Industrial Action in Caerphilly 10 July 2014

CaerphillyCaerphilly county borough council, along with other local authorities across the UK, will be affected by industrial action this week (Thursday 10 July).

All council offices and switchboards will be closed to the public, but a 24 hour contact number will be operational in case of emergencies – 01443 875500.

Chief Executive, Stuart Rosser, said, “Although normal services will be disrupted due to the industrial action, we are taking steps to ensure that key services, especially for elderly and vulnerable people, will be maintained on the day. We would like to apologise to residents in advance for any inconvenience caused.”

School closures

  • Aberbargoed Primary David Lewis Closed Open to some staff
  • Abercarn Primary Gareth Roden Closed Open to staff
  • Abertysswg Primary Davina Parfitt Closed Open to staff
  • Bedwas High School Peter Ward Closed Open to staff
  • Bedwas Infants Lynne Hadid Partially All classes except nursey will be open
  • Bedwas Junior Paul Warren Open
  • Blackwood Comprehensive Ravindra Pawar Closed Open tostaff
  • Blackwood Primary Jane Mather Closed
  • Bryn Awel Primary Robert Cushion Closed Open to staff
  • Bryn Primary Nicola Edwards Closed
  • Cefn Fforest Primary Julie Farmer Closed Open for staff
  • Coedybrain Primary Morien Morgan Closed Caretaker taking Industrail Action
  • Crumlin Primary Catherine Mansell Closed
  • Cwm Glas Infants Helen Owen Closed Open to staff
  • Cwm Ifor Primary Gareth Rees Closed Open to staff
  • Cwmaber Infants Jayne Price Closed Open for staff
  • Cwmaber Junior Dyfed Davies Closed
  • Cwmcarn High School Jacqui Peplinski Partially Some classes open and school trips running
  • Cwmcarn Primary Gwyn Evans Closed
  • Cwmfelinfach Primary David Witchell Partial Nursey andReception classes closed. Years 1 to 5 open
  • Cwrt Rawlin Primary Elaine Perkins Closed Closed
  • Deri Primary Nicola Williams Closed Open for staff
  • Derwendeg Primary Mrs Williams Closed Closed
  • Fleur De Lys Primary Susan Witchell Closed Open to staff
  • Fochriw Primary Helen Leaman Closed Open to staff
  • Gilfach Fargoed Primary Christine Lewis Closed
  • Glyngaer Primary Beverley Pearce Closed Open for staff
  • Graig Y Rhacca Primary Nicola Dargie Open
  • Greenhill Primary Gaynor Anstice Closed Open to staff
  • Hendre Infants Carol Joynson Closed
  • Hendre Junior John Farmer Closed Open for staff
  • Hendredenny Park Priamry Claire Walsh Open
  • Hengoed Primary Marian Thomas Closed Closed for staffand pupils
  • Heolddu Comprehensive Mathew Simms Closed Open to staff
  • Lewis Girls Comprehensive Heather Duncan Closed Openfor staff
  • Lewis School, Pengam Christopher Howard Closed Open for staff
  • Libanus Primary Peter Jenkins Closed Closed for staffand pupils
  • Llancaeach Junior Lisa Greenhalgh Open
  • Llanfabon Infants Patricia Woods Partial Classes 1 and2 closed. Classes 3,4 & 5 open
  • Machen Primary Andrew Lloyd Open (as per school website dated 03/07/14)
  • Maesycwmmer Primary James Harris Closed May be open to some staff
  • Markham Primary Neil Hancox Closed Open to staff
  • Nantyparc Primary Nicola Davies Closed
  • Newbridge Comprehensive Lesley Perry Closed Open for staff
  • Oakdale Comprehensive Christopher David Closed Open for staff
  • Pantside Primary Kate bennett Closed
  • Park Primary Mair Evans Closed Open for staff
  • Pengam Primary Susan Witchell Closed
  • Penllwyn Primary Susan Morrison Open
  • Pentwynmawr Primary Jacqueline Nash Closed
  • Phillipstown Primary K Harteveldt Closed
  • Plasyfelin Primary Mark Jones Closed
  • Pontllanfraith Comprehensive Chris Davies Closed Openfor staff
  • Pontllanfraith Primary Angela Taylor Closed
  • Pontlottyn Primary Helen Leaman Closed Open for staff
  • Rhiw Syr Dafydd Primary Michael Glavin Closed Open forstaff
  • Rhydri Primary Susan Lee Partially Yr 1/2 closed for pupils
  • Rhymney Comprehensive Robert P Davies Closed Open forstaff
  • Risca Comprehensive John Kendall Closed Open for staff
  • Risca Primary Jayne Arthur Closed
  • St Cenydd School Rebecca Collins Closed Open for staff
  • St Gwladys/Bargoed Primary Kathryn Evans Closed
  • St Helens RC Primary Tim Crosse Partially Reception and Yr 3 are open to pupils.
  • St James Primary Paul Samuel Closed Open for staff
  • St Martins Comprehensive Kerry Davies Closed Open forstaff
  • Tiryberth Primary Sian Clemens Closed
  • Trinant Primary Sian James Do not know – no decisionhas been made as at 04.07.2014
  • Trinity Fields Ian Elliott Closed Open for staff
  • Twyn School Lee Thomas Closed Open for staff
  • Ty Isaf Infants Alexis Edwards Closed Open for staff
  • Ty Sign Primary Alison Dacey Closed
  • Tynewydd Primary Kate Olsen Closed
  • Tyn y wern Primary Steve Noel Partial
  • Upper Rhymney Primary Samantha King Closed Open for staff
  • Waunfawr Primary Joanne Cueto Closed Open for staff
  • White Rose Primary Graham Phillips Closed
  • Y. G. Gilfach Bargoed Marion Evans Closed
  • Y. G. Bro Allta Delyth Williams Partial Open NurseryAM/PM; Reception classes x 2
  • Y. G. Bro Sannan Tracey Addicott Closed Open for Staff
  • Y. G. Caerffili Lynn Griffiths Closed
  • Y. G. Castell Helen Nutall Closed. Open for staff
  • Y. G. Cwm Gwyddon Anita Tucknutt Open
  • Y. G. Cwm Rhymni Owain Ap Dafydd Closed Open for staff
  • Y. G. G. Trelyn Elizabeth Owen Closed Open for staff
  • Y.G. Cwm Derwen Kathryn Matthews Closed Open for staff
  • Ynysddu Primary Dave Witchell Closed Open for staff
  • Ysgol Ifor Bach Sarah Edmunds Closed Open for staff
  • Ysgol Penalltau Andrea Woods Partial Meithrin and reception classes are closed
  • Ysgol Y Lawnt John Williams Closed
  • Ystrad Mynach Primary Jonathan Lloyd Closed Open for staff (at 04.07.2014)

Refuse and recycling
There will be no waste collections on Thursday 10 July 2014 as a result of Industrial Action.

We will not be collecting recycling or green waste for customers affected by the action on the 10 July until the following week’s Thursday collection. On this day we will take additional recycling and green waste that is placed at the normal collection point.

Refuse (non recycling) and food waste that is due to be collected on the 10 July can be placed at the normal collection point from 6am on Friday 11 July. The Authority will have additional vehicles and crews out from Friday the 11 and will endeavour to collect any missed refuse (non recycling) and food waste prior to Wednesday the 16 July 2014. If your bin is not collected please remove the receptacle from the highway and return to the normal collection point from 6am on Monday 14 July.

To avoid further inconvenience to our customers affected by this situation, in some areas we will be collecting the food waste and refuse on the same vehicle.

Community Centres

  • Abertridwr Open
  • Abertysswg Open
  • Ael y Bryn Closed
  • Argoed Open
  • Bargoed Open
  • Cascade Open
  • Cefn Fforest Open
  • Cefn Hengoed Open
  • Channel View Open
  • Cwmfelinfach Open
  • Deri Open
  • Fleur de Lys Open
  • Fochriw Open
  • Gelligaer Open
  • Graig y Rhacca Open
  • Hengoed Open
  • Llanbradach Closed
  • Lower Rhymney Open
  • Machen Open
  • Maesycwmmer Open
  • Markham Open
  • Nelson Open
  • Oakdale Open
  • Pentwynmawr Open
  • Penyrheol Open
  • Penybryn Open
  • Phillipstown Open
  • Plas Mawr Open
  • Rhymney Closed
  • Rhymney Day Centre Open
  • Senghenydd Open
  • Tirphil Open
  • Trecenydd Open
  • Twyn Open
  • Van Open

Household Waste Recyling Centres
All Household Waste Recyling Centres will be closed on Thursday 10 July.

On Thursday 10 July the following two libraries will open:

  • Blackwood Library 9.30am to 5.30pm
  • Caerphilly Library 9.30am to 6pm

These are the normal hours of opening. All other libraries will be closed due to the industrial action.

Public Toilets
All public toilets will be closed on Thursday 10 July.


Leave a Reply