SWALEC Bowl preview

The SWALEC Bowl for clubs in Divisions Four, Five, Six and North begins on Saturday with 39 ties taking place across the length and breadth of Wales from Abergele in the north down to Pembroke in west Wales.

Amman United have made a strong start to the league season with five straight victories to top Four West and they will be confident of making progress when they entertain Five West’s Bynea who only have one league victory to date.

There is an all-Five East clash at Bettws who welcome high-flying Ynysddu to Ty Coed Fields and, as the Newport-based side are unbeaten from four starts, they will be looking to make home advantage count.

Aberbargoed of Six East could cause a surprise when they host a Pontllanfraith outfit yet to register a victory in Five East, while Trefil, also of Six East and who have been beaten only once this season, should account for a Hartridge side that has conceded over 100 league points in Five East.

There are several north Wales derbies with Bangor visiting an Abergele outfit that already has a 39-3 victory over their visitors in Two North this season, and Rhyl travelling to Wrexham with both sides having made indifferent league starts.

An all-Five South Central clash sees Pontycymmer entertain South Wales Police for the second Saturday in succession having already won last week’s league match at Lawrence Park, 27-13.

Rhiwbina of Four South East make the short trip to Cwrt-yr-Vil to take on Five South East’s Old Penarthians with both sides having started the season in good form. The Squirrels will be hoping to make progress by preserving their unbeaten away record.

SWALEC Bowl – Round 1

Aberbargoed v Pontllanfraith
Abercarn v Oakdale
Abercrave v Penybanc
Abergele v Bangor
Amman United v Bynea
Bettws v Ynysddu
Blackwood Stars
Blaengarw v Ynysowen
Briton Ferry v Crynant
Cambrian Welfare v Hirwaun
Cardiff HSOB v Cardiff University
Cardigan v Lampeter College
Cwmgwrach v Maesteg Quins
Dinas Powys v Cardiff Medicals
Flint v Llandrindod Wells
Furnace v Hendy
Hafodyrynys v Cwmcarn
Llanhilleth v Brynithel
Llanybydder v Llangadog
Maesteg Celtic v Ogmore Vale
Menai Bridge v COBRA
Nantgaredig v Mynydd y Garreg
Nelson v Cardiff Saracens
New Panteg v Usk
Old Penarthians v Rhiwbina
Pembroke v St Clears
Penlan v Blaenau
Pontycymmer v South Wales Police
Pyle v Pontardawe
St Josephs v Barry
St Josephs (Newport) v Blaenavon
Tonna v Pontrhydyfen
Tonyrefail v Glyncoch
Trebanos v Swansea University
Trefil v Hartridge
Tregaron v Fishguard
Trinant v RTB Ebbw Vale
Vardre v Resolven
Wrexham v Rhyl