SWALEC Leagues

The SWALEC National Leagues, the lifeblood of the game in Wales, will expand in 2009/2010 to include 16 new teams when the new season opens on 5 September.

It means there will be 266 clubs playing in 23 divisions across the length and breadth of the country. SWALEC are also the title sponsors of the three tier cup competition which saw Neath, Morriston and Ammanford carry off the spoils at the Millennium Stadium.

The revamped SWALEC Leagues structure will see 16 Welsh Districts clubs come in to help form four regional divisions of 10 teams in Division 6, while Division 2 North has been split into two sections.

Relegated Bridgend start life in Swalec League Division One West with the visit of Narberth, who finished in third spot last season. Tonmawr chased champions Carmarthen Quins all the way last term and they start their season with a visit to Bonymaen.

Two East champions Tredegar have been given a tough baptism to life in One East. They open with a trip to last season’s champions Blackwood, while fellow promoted club Bedlinog entertain Llanharan who finished in third place.

It will be as you were in Two West with last season’s relegated clubs, Maesteg and Dunvant, meeting at Llynfi Road while in Two East, Penallta play host to Newport Saracens after both clubs were relegated from One East.

Division Two North has been split into two sections with promotion decided at the end of the season by means of a series of play-off matches.

One North has been reduced to ten clubs and champions Nant Conwy entertain runners-up Ruthin on opening day.


Leave a Reply