Wales U20s claim victory over Scotland

Wales Under 20s bounced back from last weekend’s defeat to England by beating Scotland 20-12 at Cardiff Arms Park.

Phil Davies’ side claimed their first Six Nations win of the season thanks to tries either side of the break from Simon Gardiner and Rhys Downes.

The hosts took an early lead through the boot of Matthew Jarvis but Scotland hit back with a converted try from Tom Brown against the run of play.

Wales restored their lead when first Gardiner went over then Downes crossed after good pressure, both converted. Brown later claimed his second try but Scotland could not claw their way back.

Wales U20 coach Phil Davies said: It was a good open game of rugby and a good advert for U20s Six Nations.”

“We had a couple of chances to score a couple more tries but I’m pleased for the boys. We played some good rugby, we tried to move the ball as did Scotland.

Wales U20 (13) 20

Tries: Gardiner, Downes Cons: Jarvis 2 Pens: Jarvis 2
Scotland U20 (7) 12
Tries: Brown 2 Cons: Grove

Wales Under-20: Dan Fish (Blues); James Loxton (Blues), Owen Williams (Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Kristian Phillips (Ospreys); Matthew Jarvis (Ospreys), Rhys Downes (Blues); Dan Watchurst (Dragons, capt), Rhys Williams (Blues), Simon Gardiner (Scarlets), Macauley Cook (Blues), Lloyd Peers (Ospreys), James Thomas (Dragons), Josh Navidi (Blues), Morgan Allen (Pontypool).
Replacements: Ieuan Davies (Glamorgan Wanderers), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Toby Faletau (Dragons), Rhys Jenkins (Dragons), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Steve Shingler (Scarlets), Matthew Pewtner (Dragons). Travelling reserve: Lee Rees (Scarlets).

Scotland Under-20: Tom Brown (Edinburgh Accies); Oliver Grove (Worcester Warriors), James Johnstone (Currie), Alex Dunbar (Selkirk), Dougie Fife (Currie); Alex Blair (Edinburgh Accies), Alex Black (Leeds Carnegie); George Hunter (Glasgow Hawks), Alun Walker (Currie), Colin Phillips (Stewart’s Melville), Matthew Reid (Heriot’s), Robert Harley (West of Scotland), Michael Maltman (Heriot’s), David Denton (Edinburgh Accies), Stuart McInally (Watsonians, capt).
Replacements: Lindsey Gibson (Melrose), Nicky Little (Hawick), Aaron Hall (Newcastle Falcons), Callum Stidston-Nott (London Scottish), Kris Hamilton (Caithness), Matthew Scott (Currie), Callum McBurnie (Moseley).


Leave a Reply