Llanharn Rugby Football Club were formally established in 1891-92 when Llanharan was little more than an agricultural hamlet. The earliest photograph on the club house wall is dated 1898. In 1919, Llanharan RFC achieved the status of membership of the Welsh Rugby Union.
The earlier years of Llanharan RFC's history saw the club use local hostelries such as the High Corner and Turberville as a base. In 1948 the first purpose built headquarters/changing rooms, were transported from Llandow airfield. A clubhouse was built in 1962 on the site of the old British Restaurant. The original building was a wartime hut, transported piece by piece from Stormy Down camp and progressively enlarged into three bars and a concert hall. Llanharan RFC moved out of the old club in 2002 into new premises in the former British Legion club on the opposite side of Bridgend Road.
Llanharan RFC play their matches at The Dairy Field, so called because of the adjacent CWS, Milk Depot which closed in the late 1960s after 50 years of milk processing. The club purchased the ground in 1989, having played all its previous seasons on the Welfare Ground. Llanharan RFC marked the advent of the national league by playing their first game on the new field against Aberavon Quins to open the 1990-91 season.
Llanharan RFC play in black shirts and shorts with three light blue horizontal hoops across the chest. The choice of colours is said to relate to impoverished bygone years when a sympathetic Cardiff gave a set of their kit to the club– the black and Cambridge Blue has been worn ever since. In respectful appreciation Llanharan henceforth called themselves the “Black and Blues” as opposed to the “Blue and Blacks.”
The badge is symbolic of the village’s history and culture. The four quarters show:
- A sheaf of corn – pre coal mining Llanharan was very much a pretty agricultural village with its picturesque stone cottages clustered around important buildings such as the church, corn mill and blacksmith, much of the economy related to the needs of the Llanharan House estate.
- A Llanharan spaniel - reputed to be a distinctive breed at a time when the estate also boasted its own pack of hunting hounds.
- The parish church of St Julius and Aaron - an ancient foundation that boasts a Tudor chalice.
- A pit head winding gear - reflecting the coal mining that dominated the village for almost a century.
The Llanharan crest also has a black cross in it to commemorate the six players who lost their lives on 12th March 1950 in the Llandow air disaster.
Today, Llanharan RFC plays in the Welsh Rugby Union, Divison One East League.
Notable former players
- Gareth Llewellyn
- Glyn Llewellyn
- Garfield Owen
Llanharan Rugby Football Club
Tel: 01443 222 209