Snowdon Mountain Railway
The locomotive Wyddfa making smoke before the off at the Llanberis terminal of the Snowdon Mountain Railway. Both the railway and the locomotive date from 1895. The journey of 5 miles and 3,000 ft will take just over the hour. A double rack and pinion system, unique to the Snowdon Mountain Railway allows the engines to wind themselves up and down the mountainside.

In 1951, the carriages were converted from open carriages much to the disappointment of Llanberis residents. A section of the journey is subject to sudden and unexpected gusts of winds and before conversion to enclosed carriages, Llanberis residents were assured of a supply of hats from the valley below.




The image and caption on this page are © Denis Egan



[Home] [Food & Drink] [Symbols] [Sport] [Products] [Places] [Buildings] [Artists] [Entertainers] [Events] [Famous Welsh] [Journalists] [Musicians] [Politicians] [Songs] [Writers] [Welsh Info] [About Us] [Vox Pop] [Contact Us] [Forums] [Our Sponsors] [Welsh Produce] [Arts & Crafts]

All copyrights acknowledged with thanks to Wikipedia. Another site by 3Cat Design 2006-2007
Whilst we try to give accurate information, we accept no liabilty for loss or incorrect information listed on this site.
If you do spot a mistake, please let us know.